House for Wren’t

Little wren, little wren, you sing all day long;

I love to hear your sweet little songs,

I listen and wonder what you are singing about,

For I’m sure there’s a message – of that I’ve no doubt.

I see you flurry down ‘neath the leaves of some flowers,

Then emerge with something good to devour;

With a beak full of lacy insect wings still flapping,

You share it with your fledglings waiting in a sapling.

I eagerly watched as your songs were heard

At the house on my porch which was designed for birds;

Your sweet little mate then joined you in song

As she decided this is where we belong.

So, that is how we ‘wrented’ to Mr and Mrs Wren;

And then we watched and waited until when –

The little wren family came into being

Then finally departed with little wings beating.

We still keep their house with the ‘For Wrent’ sign out,

Just knowing they’ll return – without a doubt!

For their songs still ring out from the trees,

As they raise their little family.

Painting our ‘House for Wrent’

Completed Painting ‘House for Wrent’ by Lois Mountz, Watercolor on d’arches paper, Size 14 x 20″